General English

The Callan Method General English course consists of 12 levels (or “stages”), and caters for all learners, from total beginner to advanced.   It is taught at Callan Accredited Schools and Online Partners, by Callan Registered Teachers and through Callan Online.

The Student’s Books are available in printed format or as eBooks with integrated audio.  In addition to the books, you will have access to the online Callan Student Practice Area which has:

  • video dictations with auto-correction
  • a unique record-your-answer module
  • lots of interactive exercises to revise grammar and vocabulary

Student’s Grammar Workbooks

The content of the Callan Method has been decided on with the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference) and popular international English language exams firmly in mind.

Grammar is taught throughout the Method. Rules are clearly explained and then immediately put into practice and constantly revised.

During Stage 5 or 6, most students will be ready to prepare for exams at B1 level, and in Stage 8 or 9 they will be at B2 level in terms of vocabulary, fluency and pronunciation, reading and listening comprehension, and usage of grammar.  Different schools may then run short courses to equip students with the techniques needed for specific exams such as Cambridge Preliminary or First, IELTS, TOEIC or TOEFL.

Student workbooks are available to help students practise the grammar required at B1 and B2 levels, whether their aim is exam success or simply a deeper understanding of the language.

By Stages 11 and 12 (the highest levels), the vast bulk of language being practised is appropriate for learners at level C1 of the CEFR.

What students say about the Callan Method

Start studying English with the Callan Method now!

Study English at a Callan Method Accredited School or online at Callan Online.
That way, you can be sure that the Method is being taught correctly so that you will learn efficiently. Always look for the Callan Method Accredited School logo.


Find A School